GG Allin on Jerry Springer (1993)

Arvo Zylo
2 min readOct 8, 2020

GG Allin on Jerry Springer

Some things:

1. I still love GG’s music, even though it’s a bit one-dimensional, to say the least. I personally wonder if in the future there will be completely sterilized versions of his songs being played at Starbucks, or if it will be banned outright. His songs being re-written to be about sports or something. The main draw is about “true art”, in essence, at least to me, and I don’t regard him as a person who just wanted attention, like most artists, especially “conceptual artists”. I mean, this is the only case I know of where he mentions his childhood, and he says he was kidnapped, held by gunpoint, kept in isolation with an abusive father, and so forth. Not to mention he was slipped acid without knowing, and that apparently made him flip out. I can relate. His type of psychosis seems like a sincere drive more than a desire to get attention. Even if the guy wasn’t sharp enough for me, and was a little too much Andrew Dice Clay, it’s still nice to hear from someone who also feels like an endangered animal. There are occasional moments where that comes across somewhat eloquently, if childishly, and I appreciate it, even though he was a self-admitted piece of shit who punched women at his concerts. He was also put in the hospital many times, thrown in jail, and thrown down flights of stairs for the sake of his “art”. That was the only way he knew on how to find what he knew to be “love”, at least that’s how I see it.

2. According to commenters, the 17 yr old in this show ended up being GG’s “girlfriend”. I’m trying to resist looking it up.

3. I miss my VHS of GG Allin’s last show, where he basically shoved crushed beer cans up his bum for half of the time.

4. I kinda regret never going to a taping of a Jerry Springer show, but not that much.

5. I was 12 when he died, and still kinda wonder what it would have been like if I knew anything about him, much less enough to go to one of his shows, although I don’t think all-ages shows were happening for him in Chicago, that I know of. I could have gotten away with going to one of his shows at that time, I know it!

--

--